Department of Human Services

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

SNAP Eligibility

Income Requirements

Households have to meet income standards unless all members are receiving TANF, SSI, or in some places general assistance. Most District households will qualify for expanded categorical eligibility. These households must meet the maximum gross monthly income standard for expanded categorically eligible households. Households who qualify for expanded categorical eligibility do not need to meet the regular maximum gross monthly income eligibility standard nor the maximum net monthly income eligibility standard. A household with an elderly person or a person who is receiving certain types of disability payments does not need to meet either of the gross income standards, and will not need to meet the net income standard when their income is below the gross income standards. Households, except those noted, that have income over the amounts listed below cannot get SNAP benefits. 

Household Size Maximum Gross
Monthly Income
Eligibility Standard for Expanded
Categorically Eligible Households
(effective October 1, 2015)
200% FPL
Maximum Gross
Monthly Income
Standard (effective
October 1, 2015)
130% FPL
Maximum Net
Monthly Income
Eligibility Standard
(effective October 1,

100% FPL
Maximum Allotment
(effective October 1, 2015)
1 $1,962 $1,276 $981 $194
2 2,656 1,726 1,328 357
3 3,350 2,177 1,675 511
4 4,042 2,628 2,021 649
5 4,736 3,078 2,368 771
6 5,430 3,529 2,715 925
7 6,122 3,980 3,061 1,022
8 6,816 4,430 3,408 1,169
Each Additional Member +694 +451 +347 +146

Gross income means a household's total, non-excluded income, before any deductions have been made.

Find Your Gross Income Example
Determine your houshold size 4 people with no elderly or disabled members
Add gross monthly income $1,500 earned income
+ $550 social security
= $2,050 gross income
If gross monthly income is less than the limit for household size (from table above), determine net income.
$2,050 is less than the $2,628 allowed for a 4-person household, so determine net income

Net income means gross income minus allowable deductions. To find your Net Income, take your Gross Income and subtract any of the deductions below that apply. Compare your results to the table above using the Net Income column.

Allowed Deductions

Deductions are allowed as follows:

  • A 20 percent deduction from earned income;
  • A standard deduction of $155 for households sizes of 1 to 3 people and $168 for a household size of 4 (higher for some larger households);
  • A dependent care deduction when needed for work, training, or education;
  • Medical expenses for elderly or disabled members that are more than $35 for the month if they are not paid by insurance or someone else;
  • Legally owed child support payments;
  • Excess shelter costs that are more than half of the household's income after the other deductions. Allowable costs include the cost of fuel to heat and cook with, electricity, water, the basic fee for one telephone, rent or mortgage payments and taxes on the home. The amount of the shelter deduction cannot be more than $504 unless one person in the household is elderly or disabled.

Resource Requirements

Resources are things like bank accounts, money market funds, certificates of deposit, and stock and bonds. Most District households fall under expanded categorical eligibility rules and do not have a limit on resources.

Some households with disabled or elderly members do not qualify for SNAP under expanded categorical eligibility. In this situation, the household must meet different income rules and it cannot have more than $3,250 in resources.

Even when there is a resource limit, some things never count, such as the value of the home.